Dr. Michael Grant selected to join as Fellows 2020 into the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

OTTAWA – The Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS) is pleased to unveil the list of individuals that were selected to join as Fellows for 2020.

CAHS recognizes excellence in health sciences.  Fellows have demonstrated, through their careers and lives, that they are committed to their field of expertise in many ways.

In a year where the impact of health sciences has been celebrated through our struggle with the COVID-19 pandemic and its many repercussions, we were pleased to receive the largest ever number of applications for Fellowship.

Speaking to the new Fellows, the Chair of the Fellowship Committee, Dr. Proton Rahman, said, “Congratulations on being elected as a Fellow in the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.  Your induction is a reflection of your vision, innovation and sustained excellence in your field and, undoubtedly, your expertise will further enrich our Academy.  We are looking forward to your engagement in CAHS’ activities.”

Dr. Paul Allison, CAHS’ President, congratulated the new Fellows and mentioned, “Your dedication to health sciences is what is recognized today.  Our Fellows understand that being elected to the Academy carries with it a covenant to serve the Academy and the future wellbeing of the health sciences, irrespective of the Fellow’s specific discipline.”

Click here for the list of 2020 Fellows.

Dr. Michael Grant
Michael Grant, CANFAR Chair of the Scientific Advisory Committee, Professor of Immunology, Associate Dean, BioMedical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Michael Grant

Michael Grant started his career as the only biomedical scientist in Atlantic Canada studying HIV. His innovative interdisciplinary work significantly influenced our understanding of immunology and infectious disease and helped put Canadian HIV research on the map. His exemplary leadership record is highlighted by election to president, Canadian Association for HIV Research, member, Ministerial Council on HIV/AIDS, chair, CIHR HIV/AIDS Research Advisory Committee, chair, CIHR Virology and Viral Pathogenesis Review panel and Chair, Canadian Foundation for AIDS Research Scientific Advisory Committee. In 2018, Dr. Grant received the Hardy Cinader award, the highest honour bestowed by the Canadian Society for Immunology.